General information

The OPSA-PUCE is an academic space that promotes the research of topics regarding the environment, as well as its multidisciplinary treatment based on the understanding, diffusion and development of rigorous quantitative and qualitative instruments that are versatile for public and private decision-makers seeking to improve the planning and the systemic management of the use of natural resources.

The School of Economics of the PUCE is a pioneer in Ecuadorian academia in the establishment of an observatory that allows students —from the beginning of their undergraduate training— to become involved in environment-related research and analysis, as well as its interaction with society as a result of the unique natural conditions which are characteristic of this country. Likewise, it offers students the chance to choose subjects specialized in these areas that are integrated into the research and debate processes led by the OPSA-PUCE.

The OPSA-PUCE considers the prioritization of the environment in proposals seeking both short and long-term social and economic transformations in the political national debate to be inescapable. To foster this concern, alliances with various institutions, as well as national and international actors have been built up that permit the members thereof to balance academic components with deliberative and practical —albeit scientifically substantiated— work.

In recent years, the OPSA-PUCE has conducted research in the areas of: environmental policy, ecological economics and climate change. Currently, this observatory mainly focuses on (i) developing a first edition text linking econometrics and the environment and (ii) the design of Ecuadorian environmental databases.

 

OPSA
OBJECTIVES

• Design mechanisms for the mainstreaming in society of the debate on environment by means of an epistemological approach on the basis of the theory of complexity.

• Carry out research into the causes and consequences of environmental issues based on both the exact as well as the social sciences.

• Promote the application of biology, economics, politics and communication to solve sustainability and market failure issues evinced in contexts characterized by a wealth of natural capital like that of Ecuador.

• Promote the practical familiarization of the students and researchers of this university with related theoretical knowledge through an interaction with strategic stakeholders which allows them to influence the decision-making process.

Research Team

Jorge Salgado

Jorge Salgado

Director of the OPSA-PUCE
School of Economics
Phone Address: 299 1700 ext. 1140
E-mail: j.salgado@opsa.com.ec
María Angélica Trujillo

María Angélica Trujillo

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: m.trujillo@opsa.com.ec

Daniel Viola

Daniel Viola

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: d.viola@opsa.com.ec

Daniela Loza

Daniela Loza

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: d.loza@opsa.com.ec

Carolina Cevallos

Carolina Cevallos

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: c.cevallos@opsa.com.ec

Aimar Renteria

Aimar Renteria

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: a.renteria@opsa.com.ec

Diana Cruz

Diana Cruz

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: d.cruz@opsa.com.ec

Nelly Flores

Nelly Flores

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: n.flores@opsa.com.ec

Diego Cevallos

Diego Cevallos

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: d.cevallos@opsa.com.ec

Josue Guerrero

Josue Guerrero

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: j.guerrero@opsa.com.ec

Christopher Morales

Christopher Morales

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: c.morales@opsa.com.ec

David Gutierrez

David Gutierrez

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: d.gutierrez@opsa.com.ec

Laura Piñeiros

Laura Piñeiros

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: l.pineiros@opsa.com.ec

Jose David Caicedo

Jose David Caicedo

Researcher at OPSA
School of Economics
E-mail: j.caicedo@opsa.com.ec

Camila Vargas

Camila Vargas

Researcher at OPSA
Literature career
E-mail: c.vargas@opsa.com.ec

David López

David López

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: d.lopez@opsa.com.ec

Guillermo Parra

Guillermo Parra

Researcher at OPSA
Design career
E-mail: g.parra@opsa.com.ec

Paul Cepeda

Paul Cepeda

Researcher at OPSA
Literature career
E-mail: p.cepeda@opsa.com.ec

Wendy Almeida

Wendy Almeida

Researcher at OPSA
Geography career
E-mail: w.almeida@opsa.com.ec

Download Free FREE High-quality Joomla! Designs • Premium Joomla 3 Templates BIGtheme.net